Your MNBC Judiciary Arm

The Senate shall act as the judicial arm of the Métis Nation British Columbia in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution; Consist of seven (7) appointed Senators, one Senator per Region.

The Senate is the judicial arm of Metis Nation of British Columbia.  It derives its powers from the Senate Act and is responsible for upholding the guiding principles in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution and Legislation.

The Metis Nation of British Columbia was founded on the principles of democracy meaning rule by its Metis citizens.  There are several guiding principles that act as the foundation of a democracy, such as rule of law, protected rights and freedoms, free and fair elections, and accountability and transparency of elected officials. Metis citizens have a responsibility to uphold and support these principles.

The Senate fulfills this mandate, in part, by carrying out the following duties:

  • Mediation;
  • Citizenship and Central Registry Appeals,
  • Election Appeals;
  • Regional and Community Disputes;
  • Ceremonial Activities and Exchanges;
  • Conducting Opening and Closing Prayers;
  • Directing Swearing-in Ceremonies and Oaths;
  • Displaying Metis Flags and Sashes;
  • Natural Resource Appeals; and
  • Citizenship Challenges
MNBC Senate Chart

Call for Senate Nominations