The Métis Provincial Council of British Columbia was first incorporated under the Society’s Act on October 23, 1996. In 2003 the Métis leadership ratified the "Métis Nation British Columbia" (MNBC) Constitution thereby establishing a new Métis Nation governance structure. Since 2003, the Métis Nation British Columbia (MNBC) leadership has implemented a number of institutions of governance such as the Senate, Métis Nation Governing Assembly, Youth representation, Women’s representation, an Electoral Act, and an objectively verifiable citizenship process. MNBC represents thirty-seven (37) Métis Chartered Communities in British Columbia and is mandated to develop and enhance opportunities for Métis communities by implementing culturally relevant social and economic programs and services.

The Métis Nation British Columbia (MNBC) represents nearly 85,000 self-identified Métis people in British Columbia, of that, nearly 17,000 are provincially registered Métis Citizens with MNBC.  Recognized by the Métis National Council, the Provincial Government of British Columbia and the Federal Government of Canada the Métis Nation British Columbia is the official governing body of the Métis in BC.

Our Vision

Métis Nation British Columbia will build a proud, self-governing, sustainable Nation in recognition of Inherent Rights for our Métis citizens.

Our Mission

Métis Nation British Columbia develops and enhances opportunities for our Métis Chartered Communities and Métis people in British Columbia by providing culturally relevant social and economic programs and services.

Our Values

  • Teamwork
  • Respect
  • Dedication
  • Accountability
  • Integrity
  • Professionalism

Your Leadership

Photo: Métis Nation British Columbia Board of Directors 

Front Row (L-R) Provincial Women's Minister Victoria Pruden, Vice President Lissa Smith, President Clara Morin Dal Col, Provincial Youth Minister Cassidy Caron, Regional Director for Kootenay's Marilynn Taylor

Back Row (L-R) Regional Director for Thompson Okanagan Daniel Pitman, Regional Director for Northwest Susie Hooper, Regional Director for Lower Mainland Gary Biggar, Regional Director for Northeast Walter Mineault, Regional Director for Northcentral Raynie Gervais, Regional Director for Vancouver Island Michael Dumont

Contact your Board of Directors

How Important Are Our Chartered Communities to Métis Nation BC?